92 42 111 290 290 contact@lumensoft.pk

Creating Users in Nimbus

To access the Users screen, from the sidebar menu select Security>Security Users.

Main menu navigation

A User is a person using the application. In any business, there are a number of persons managing different aspects of the business and thus different persons can use a single application but their roles and activities can be different. For example, a salesperson will only use the sales and return screen and has nothing to do with inventory management. Therefore for security reasons, it makes sense to associate various rights with a particular user to limit access to certain screens.

For this purpose, you create different user groups and then add user accounts for each member of that group. Consider the example of a pre-defined group in Nimbus called ‘Sales shop‘. By default, all users defined under this group have access to the activities related to shop management like sales and return, customer definition, physical audit, account transaction, etc.

User Records

The default screen of Security Users is the Records tab. Records tab shows records of all created users of all shops and groups. You can filter users according to group types by selecting it from Select a Group drop-down menu.

Creating Users

User accounts are created by Admin (any user-defined under the ‘Admin’ group)

Once groups are defined, you can create user accounts under each group. Login ID and passwords are attached to each user and these credentials can be used to log in to the system. This way the system will restrict unauthorized users from operating the system and will ensure system security. The administrator can also set certain user based rights by selecting the check-boxes on the screen against a particular user.

From Select a Group drop-down, select the group under which you want to define users.

The drop-down will show the groups you have defined on the Groups screen.

Enter the name of the user you want to attach to the selected group. Enter an email address and comments(by clicking “Add Comment”) in the respective fields.

Enter user login in the Login ID field. It is the login that the user will use to login to the system.

Enter the password in both the password and confirm password fields.

If it is a multi-store version, select the store from Store Name drop-down to attach the user to a particular shop.

Once the shop is selected, all its registers will become visible in the register drop-down menu.

From Register drop-down, select the register to attach it to the defined user.

And then Save user record.

Creating users

All created users will appear in list view on the Records tab:

Records

Note: Users are created and assigned passwords by an admin user. But once a user logs in with her/his assigned password, s/he can change the password and can also add a profile picture by clicking the expand icon on the top left side of the screen.

Change account settings

User Rights on Registers

Users can access, make sales, and close only the registers they are attached to. If a user is attached to a particular register s/he cannot access any other register.

You can give a particular user the right to access all registers by not selecting any register for the user. Such users will have the option to do the following:

Select any register for making sales on Sales and Return screen.

Closing any register on the Shift Management screen.

Updating a User Record

To update a user record, double click the user name on the Records tab.

The selected user will load on the screen.

Make changes and click the Update button.

What are User-Based Rights and How to Assign them?

User-based rights are permission on the User screen that you can grant to a particular user by selecting the required check-boxes. These rights can vary from user to user within the same group. For example, you may assign the right to view cost price to salesperson A but withhold it from salesperson B.

Now both users, A & B, will belong to the same group but will have different rights.

The following rights are available:

User rights

Enable View Cost Price

If ‘Enable View Cost Price‘ checkbox is checked for a particular user, s/he is marked as a cost user. Cost users can view the cost price of products on reports and other screens.

Apply Adjustment at Sale

When ‘Apply Adjustment‘ check-box is ticked, the user is allowed to make a limited adjustment on Sales and Return screen according to the adjustment limit set on the Configuration>System Configuration>Sales tab.

Apply Open Adjustment at Sale

To allow the user to make adjustments without restriction, check the ‘Apply Open Adjustment‘ checkbox. It enables the user to make the open adjustment without any limit to the invoice on the sales and return screen.

Allow Discount Editing at Sale

When this check-box is ticked, the user is allowed to modify the unit discount of an inventory item on Sales and Return screen. The U.Dist field on the Sales and Return screen becomes editable.

When a particular user has this right s/he can give product discounts during sales by entering the value or percentage in U. Discount field.

Note: If the user has the rights to edit the unit discount, s/he can apply the unit discount in both percentage and value depending on the configuration ‘Item Discount Mode‘ on Configuration>System Configuration>Sale tab.

Allow Price Editing at Sale

Users can modify the rate of inventory item on Sale screen when ‘Allow Price Editing at Sale‘ check-box is ticked. The Rate field on Sales and Return form will become editable for the user.

Active

When you create a new user, Active is checked is by default. If you want to deactivate a certain user you can un-check the Active checkbox.

 

in Ensuring Security